Simmering Elderberry Syrup

Elderberries, grated ginger, ground cinnamon, and ground cloves

Elderberries, grated ginger, ground cinnamon, and ground cloves

Too cold and snowy to spend much time in the garden, so I brought the garden inside! A cup of dried elderberries and a bit of fresh grated ginger are simmering right now on my stove top. My gardening joy is back!

Elderberry Syrup is touted as a cold and flu fighter. The Elderberry bush I planted last summer won’t produce enough berries for this purpose for a couple of years yet, so this batch of berries was mail-ordered. They are a little expensive when purchased this way, $11.50 for half a pound. This recipe only needs a few dollars worth though, so I still feel relatively frugal. In perhaps two years I will have the berries for free. I am looking forward to seeing how well the syrup works.

The finished product, added to a little raw honey. Take one teaspoon daily.

The finished product, added to a little raw honey. Take one teaspoon daily.

“Working” means my husband and I don’t get sick this winter, or if we do, our cold is of short duration. We are both generally healthy, but usually get two or three colds a year. I get a flu shot, but my husband does not. It will be interesting to see what happens this winter!

No matter how it turns out, this was a fun thing to create. It stretches my mind differently to simmer a potion intended to improve one’s health. There is so much power in creation, power for our physical, emotional and spiritual well-being, that I wonder how it is possible we left it for convenience food and medicine and distractions.

 

P.S. I ran out of syrup around spring break, and didn’t get around to making more until I did indeed catch one cold. However, I got over my “cold” in 3-4 days, while many friends were ill for 2 weeks or longer around the same time. I am convinced it helped!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.